Healthy Skin is Happy Skin

June 2, 2010

I was reading Cosmo a few weeks ago, and there was this whole article about taking care of your skin – like using moisturizer and sunscreen and avoiding tanning beds…stuff like that. They mentioned the new Neutrogena Healthy Defense Daily Moisturizer with SPF 50 and helioplex.

It’s said to protect against UVA and UVB rays, and I thought I’d try it. I went to Target the next day, and when I finally located it, I saw that it cost almost $14. I don’t know about you, but I found that to be a bit much for a moisturizer. I thought, “Well, it’s a new product, so it might take a few weeks for the price to come down. I’ll just wait till then and use my SPF 15 moisturizer till then.” However, two days ago, my fiance and I went to Wal-Mart since they’re having really great deals right now. We went to get some new face wash, and I thought I’d see how much this moisturizer was priced here. It was only $10, which I thought was a good deal, since it was almost $14 at Target. I used it for the first time yesterday, and found it to be very different from my other moisturizer. It was a lot thicker and smelled different, but not bad. It smelled almost like sun screen (probably from it being SPF 50), and it was a tad on the greasy side, which the advertisement said it wasn’t greasy. Having my face smell like sun screen and the weather being as warm and humid as it was yesterday, I felt like I should be at the beach! This new moisturizer wasn’t life changing or anything, but I did enjoy knowing that while I was out in the sun, my skin was being protected more. This morning, however, I did wake up with a little breakout on my left cheek, but nothing too terrible. I might save the SPF 50 for the days when I know I’ll be out in the sun more though (I’m usually an indoor person, since I’m not a fan of temperatures above 75 degrees). But I would definitely recommend this moisturizer to anyone who likes to be outside all the time. It’ll definitely keep your face safe from sunburn and wrinkles due to sun damage. Make sure to take care of your skin now, so you can be as pretty tomorrow as you are today.

Leave a Reply

