Another Golden Girl Gone

June 3, 2010

Rue McClanahan, Blanche Devereaux from The Golden Girls, died today at the age of 76. I’d like to say that she was always my favorite character on the show, but that would be a lie. All four of those women were my favorite. Each one had such a different personality than the others. That’s what made the show so great, in my opinion. I still remember my first week as a freshman at Clemson University when I was going through sorority recruitment; I learned that Rue McClanahan was a member of Kappa Alpha Theta, the sorority that invited me to be a member. I still remember calling one of my friends in Memphis (he was and still is obsessed with the show, Blanche being his favorite) and telling him that I was now in the same sorority as Rue. Although it probably sounds pretty lame, I still thought it was neat; that I, a plain Jane, was a part of the same rituals that Rue was. Her spunk and charm as the flirtatious Blanche Devereaux on The Golden Girls will certainly help keep her memory alive for a very, very long time. She will certainly be missed. Rest in peace, Rue McClanahan.

Leave a Reply

